Computational Psychiatry Course 2015


The Computational Psychiatry Course 2015, was a four-day course designed to provide students with the necessary toolkit to master challenges in computational psychiatry research.

This course should be practically useful for students (Master, PhD, Postdoc) who would like to apply modeling techniques to study learning, decision-making or brain physiology in patients with psychiatric disorders. The course teaches not only the theory of computational modeling, but also demonstrates open source software in application to example data sets. 

Date: 12th December to 15th December 2015


  • Day 1 introduces general modeling techniques, including model inversion (Variational Bayes, MCMC) and model comparison.
  • Day 2 and 3 feature different modeling approaches for behavioral data (learning and decision-making) and fMRI/EEG data - including Bayesian Modeling, Reinforcement Learning, Drift Diffusion Models and Dynamical Causal Models.
  • Day 4 will focus on applications: Experts in the field will present practical applications of computational models to problems from psychiatry and neuroeconomics.




Eduardo Aponte               (UZH & ETH Zurich)

Daniel Braun                    (Tübingen)

Jean Daunizeau               (Paris)

Michael Frank                   (Brown University)

Karl Friston                       (UCL)

Jakob Heinzle                   (UZH & ETH Zurich)

Quentin Huys                    (UZH & ETH Zurich)

Viktor Jirsa                        (Marseille)

Tiago Maia                        (Lisbon)

Christoph Mathys              (UCL)

Rosalyn Moran                  (Virginia Tech)

Saee Paliwal                     (UZH & ETH Zurich)

Martin Paulus                    (San Diego)

Frederike Petzschner        (UZH & ETH Zurich)

Lionel Rigoux                    (Cologne, UZH & ETH Zurich)

Dario Schöbi                     (UZH & ETH Zurich)

Philipp  Schwartenbeck    (UCL)

Anil Seth                           (Sussex)

Sudhir Raman Shankar    (UZH & ETH Zurich)

Klaas Enno Stephan         (UZH & ETH Zurich)

Philippe Tobler                  (UZH Zurich)

Lilian Weber                      (UZH & ETH Zurich)

Thomas Wiecki                 (Brown University)



Dr. Frederike Petzschner

Prof. Dr. Klaas Enno Stephan

Silvia Princz

Gina Paolini